Testimonials

TripAdvisor
EXCELLENT
583 reviews on
Annya
Annya
2021-04-21
The perfect staff and amenities! An absolute perfect stay! Upon arrival and check-in it felt as if my best friend and I had just met up with a group of our friends. Rum punch happy hour daily invited everyone there to congregate and meet new people which are now my Facebook friends discussing our next trip back. They have a great patio to socialize and the pool area to cool off and relax. Continental breakfast daily allowed me and my friend to recap our experiences from the day before and plan out our activities for the day while relaxing in the warm morning breeze. They have plenty of towels, snorkel gear, and other beach equipment for the guests. The staff went above and beyond to ensure we had the best beaches, restaurants and excursions. The owner Dave stopped by with his rescue dogs a few times and it was great to hear about his experience on the island. Mike and Britny were great managers and were on point with all of our requests. Redd working there was incredibly attentive and helped us with anything we needed including popping the batteries in completely into our AC remote when we couldn't get it to work (facepalm). Phillip provided some great beach spots and his calming demeanor was such a pleasure to be around. Lastly the two kittys on the premises were such a welcome sight to be around and just came and went as they pleased. It was a daily routine I could see myself doing again in the near future as I have already reached out to book my next trip with them!
Read more
rich_coleman
rich_coleman
2021-04-02
Colourful, clean and comfortable My wife and I enjoyed a simple one-night stay in March 2021. The room was perfectly clean and we were well looked-after by the owners, with Mike offering some useful restaurant suggestions. Efficient A/C and robust WiFi kept the room comfortable. There's street parking outside the hotel and a small dedicated lot next door (3-6 vehicles, depending how people arrange themselves). A complementary continental breakfast is offered at sociable hours in the morning. It's a short walk to a supermarket, restaurants and other things in Cruz Bay (which is a hilly town, so prepare for that... otherwise it's just a couple of minutes' drive to get around). For us, St. John Inn was exactly as advertised -- a colourful boutique hotel at an affordable price point (for this island), and we thought it was excellent!
Read more
Mrs_loves_2_travel
Mrs_loves_2_travel
2021-03-24
Exactly as we expected We had a wonderful one night stay at St John Inn. The website description and photos very accurately portray the laidback and quirky vibe of the inn. We didn’t get WiFi in our room (signal not strong enough) and a lightbulb needing replacing in the entryway of our room, but I’m certain if we would have brought this to the attention of the staff they would have been accommodating. The inn is within walking distance of Cruz Bay and is a good starting point for exploring the beautiful beaches of St. John. Having a quick included breakfast of muffins/bagels and juice in the morning made getting going easy. I very much appreciate the front desk holding our bags for us after checkout so we could enjoy the beach before departing back on the ferry, the terminal being just blocks from the inn. We never received the complimentary bottle of rum we were offered for booking on their website, but I also forgot to ask. I guess they will owe us two bottles next stay. ? Overall: wonderful staff, cute hotel, and great location. I wouldn’t hesitate to book again.
Read more
Ali
Ali
2021-03-21
We will be back! This was my 3rd trip to the island, but first time staying at the St John Inn. Ideal location, close to restaurants, town & shops. Clean & spacious rooms with everything you may need. The owner, Dave, is knowledgeable, friendly & will go out of his way to make your experience everything you could hope for.
Read more
Mike R
Mike R
2021-02-26
Too short of a stay at St. John Inn My wife and I booked a trip to St Thomas but wanted to spend time on St John. After reading some reviews on TripAdvisor we chose the St John Inn. Unfortunately we only had one day and night at the Inn but we spent an unexpected evening sitting and talking with the owner Dave and managers—Mike and Brittany. The hospitality, warmth and kindness of these people cannot be overstated. We felt so welcome and everything you need is there, beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel gear, coolers, etc. Plus the inn is walking distance to everything in Cruz Bay and breakfast is served each morning in the deck. Our one and only night on the island we had planned to have one drink at the nightly rum punch happy hour but as we sat with the group of what seemed to be “regulars” along with the owner and managers we felt like WE were part of the regular crowd. Our intentions were to go into town, shop, have a drink and maybe a beach side snack. But we were amazed at this group of people and found ourselves suddenly nearing midnight with nothing but interesting people, pets and conversations. Let me tell you—this is not my idea of vacation—but I found myself drawn to Mike, Brittany and Dave as if we were long lost friends. We really appreciated how much they went out of their way to be our “friends” and just share life with us. We are already planning our return trip. I would not consider staying anywhere else. I hope to have a chance to catch up with the whole crew and listen to stories from their oh so interesting lives once again! Thanks so much! Mike and Michelle
Read more
Tammy R
Tammy R
2021-02-25
As Close to PARADISE AS YOU CAN GET!! I honestly cannot even put into words the visit we had here...but I will try. I brought my pre-teen daughter and her BF for a birthday trip. Britt greated us at the market and insisted on carrying our luggage and walking us up to the hotel. From there on there literally was NOT a bad moment the whole 5 days. Michael & Britt run the hotel and feel like immediate family as soon as you meet them. They make you feel like you are HOME from beginning to end. They have an amazingly relaxing free breakfast in the morning and rum punch at happy hour at 5:30. Every day we literally scheduled our day around happy hour because it was such a delightful place to be. The girls loved the pool and the hammock was my favorite place to be to enjoy the many night stars (I saw A SHOOTING STAR!) and the night breeze. The memories will stay with us forever and when we return to St John we will ALWAYS stay at The St John Inn. The words that come to mind when I think of this place are: comfortable, friendly, convenient, safe, home, family to name only a few. The best decision we ever made was booking here.
Read more
bradcarp
bradcarp
2021-02-03
Island Vibe in a great location. Comfortable, friendly, convenient, safe, quirky home-away-from-home. The St John Inn is a perfect place to stay during your visit to St John. The location is ideal, within walking distance from the ferry terminal /restaurants / bars / car rentals / groceries in downtown Cruz Bay, without being right in the middle of all the noise and foot traffic. Compared to other options on the island, it is a fantastic value with extra amenities to make your trip easy and fun — Breakfast in the morning, snorkel gear, beach coolers, chairs & towels, bug spray, sunscreen, etc. are all available for free. And of course, the famous rum punch happy hour is a must! We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The room was clean and well appointed. It had a microwave and fridge which came in handy for late night snacks we bought at the nearby grocery store. The beds are very comfortable — “Heavenly” mattresses, high-thread-count linens and soft pillows. The Inn is taking extra steps to help guests stay safe during the pandemic without impacting the quality of their stay — common-sense mask procedures, sanitizing rooms and common areas, serving food/drinks in an outdoor patio area. Perhaps the best part of this quirky little boutique hotel is the friendly and helpful staff. Always available to assist with questions, concierge services, or just friendly conversation. The St John Inn goes out of their way to make your vacation special. Do yourself a favor and give this boutique hotel a try, you won’t be disappointed.
Read more
friscocruiser
friscocruiser
2021-01-22
A Perfect Spot for the Perfect St. John Visit We stayed here in a 2br villa for 4 nights. This was our first stay at the St. John Inn and now we have the place we will be staying at from now on and where we will steer all our friends. We checked in early in the evening and where met by Brittany and Mike (and their cute dogs), the hosts. It was an easy and welcoming check-in, and then Brittany took us on a tour of the hotel, showing us the patio area (grabbed a rum punch there that is their happy hour), the pool garden area, and then across the street to our villa. The 2br villa (we had Villa #1 I believe) had a colorful picket fence around it and we were able to park our jeep right there on the street. The villa is very large, with a sitting area with a futon sofa, a large TV with satellite, and a/c. The larger bedroom has drawers to unload in, a VERY comfortable queen bed, a/c, and a fan. I need to sleep cold and the a/c and fan kept us very cold, perfect! The 2nde bedroom has the same VERY comfy bed, but no drawers to unload the suitcase. Both bedroom open up to the patio that has a view of the water and a table where I would have morning coffee and afternoon snacks. There is a large kitchen with a full size refrigerator, stove tope, coffee maker, etc. There is only 1 bathroom though, but we managed through it. The St. John Inn is a very welcoming cozy spot in the middle of town. We have already booked our next stay in March. It's less than 5 minutes walking to town, and only about three minutes to our favorite spot, Woodys. No major hills to try to climb. We rented a jeep from Courtesy Rentals just a few doors down. Best of all Mike and Brittany are just the best hosts! We enjoyed their hospitality and friendliness. We cannot recommend this any better!
Read more